The International – Majordomo Hospitality Handicap Chase Facts & Figures

* The race has been run 40 times in total. It was not held in 1964, 1968 or 1969, while frost intervened in 1976 and 1987, snow caused the abandonment of the 1981 card and the 1967 meeting was lost due to the foot and mouth epidemic.

* Favourites have an excellent record, obliging on 21 occasions (a 52.5% strike rate). The most recent winning favourite was Over The Creek at 6/1 in 2007.

* Kingscliff at 4/7 in 2003 is the shortest-priced winner, while Lavenshaw in 1972 and Duntree in 1992 both scored at 14/1 and are the longest-priced winners.

* Josh Gifford’s five victories through Jack Madness (1979), Door Latch (1984) and hat-trick hero Yorkshire Gale (1995, 1996 & 1997) make the now-retired handler the most successful trainer in the race’s history.

* Among current trainers, Nicky Henderson, Venetia Williams and David Pipe lead the way, with two wins each. Henderson scored with Master Bob (1990) and Marlborough (2000), while Williams triumphed with Royale De Vassy (2001) and Mon Mome (2008). Pipe’s successes have both come in the past three years courtesy of Over The Creek (2007) and The Package (2009).

* Norman Williamson is the winning-most rider in the race’s history, having completed a quintet of successes aboard Third In Line (1991), Whispering Steel (1994), Yorkshire Gale (1996 & 1997) and Royale De Vassy (2001).

* Tony McCoy’s trio of wins came on Yorkshire Gale (1995), Tamarindo (1998) and Horus (2002), and he is the most successful current jockey (pictured).

* There have been only two Irish-trained winners – Mighty’s Honour in 1978 and Flashing Steel in 1993.

* The Dikler (1970), Diamond Edge (1980) and Brown Chamberlin (1982) all shouldered 12st to victory, while at the other end of the spectrum, Lavenshaw (1972), Rubstic (1975), Musso (1983), Yorkshire Gale (1995), Tamarindo (1998), Royale De Vassy (2001) and The Package (2009) scored with only 10st on their backs.

* Tamarindo, a five-year-old when triumphant in 1998, is the youngest  winner of the race.

* The admirably tough Yorkshire Gale was 11 when bringing up the hat-trick in 1997 as was 1988 victor Bucko, making them the oldest winners of the race.

* The largest field was in 2007, when Over The Creek overcame 15 opponents.

* Yorkshire Gale won the contest three times and is the only multiple winner.

* Of the winners, Rubstic (1975) and Mon Mome (2008) both subsequently won the Grand National, while The Dikler (1970) went on to success in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top