Neck-and-neck in first ever Lady Jockeys’ Championship

The first ever Prolinx Lady Jockeys’ Championship is set to go all the way to the wire on Saturday (10 November) with the two contenders for the Gold Award separated by just a whisker.

Amy Ryan, 23, who is currently in pole position to become the first outright female winner of the apprentice jockeys’ title, was just a fraction behind Hayley Turner (pictured) going into Tuesday afternoon’s racing.

Each has an 11% winner-to-ride strike-rate, the determining factor in the Prolinx Lady Jockeys’ Championship – with Hayley just ahead because of her greater number of winners.

The contest – sponsored by business IT solutions provider Prolinx Ltd – has been running since March.

Laura Barry currently leads the silver award with 10 winners from 62 rides for a strike rate of 16%, while Hannah Nunn is in front for the bronze section with eight winners from 33 rides for a strike rate of 24%, although two more winners this week would take her into the lead in the battle for silver.

The three awards enjoy prize-money of £5,000, £3,000 and £1,000 respectively.

Andy Weller, Managing Director of Prolinx Ltd, who also sponsored the ‘Lady Jockey of the Year’ award at the Stobart Lesters earlier this year, said: “We are delighted with the first ever Prolinx Lady Jockeys’ Championship. It has been a hugely exciting contest and we are now looking forward to the climax at Doncaster Racecourse on Saturday 10 November, when the flat racing season on turf ends.”

Paul Struthers, Chief Executive of the Professional Jockeys Association, said: “The Prolinx Lady Jockeys’ Championship reflects the impact that has been made by female jockeys in recent years and rewards their growing influence in the sport.”

Leading Lady Professional Jockeys (figures correct – start of 6 November 2012)

Gold award (30+ winners)

Hayley Turner 65/586 (11%)
Amy Ryan 40/363 (11%)
Cathy Gannon 41/409 (10%)

Silver award (10–29 winners)

Laura Barry 10/62 (16%)
Amy Scott 13/105 (12%)
Leonna Mayor 10/99 (10%)
Natasha Eaton 10/101 (10%)

Bronze award (1–9 winners)

Hannah Nunn 8/33 (24%)
Katia Scallan 6/46 (13%)

*Winners/rides (strike rate)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Eclipse Magazine

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top