Martin Wills Writing Awards

Entries for the 2017 – and last ever – Martin Wills Writing Awards close on 28th February

There is still almost another month in which to submit entries for the 2017  – and last ever – Martin Wills Writing Awards, which have a closing date of Tuesday 28th February.

The Awards are for fine writing, either fact or fiction, on a horseracing theme by young people. The four categories are-under 26/18/15/12 (at 1st September 2016).

On offer to winners and runners up are attractive prize money and an expenses-paid day’s racing at the Newmarket Craven meeting on Wednesday 19th April. Winning articles will also be published.

The Trustees of the Martin Wills Memorial Trust (a registered charity) have decided that, after 25 competitions, not only will the 2017 Awards be the last to be organised by the Trust but also the last to bear Martin Wills’ name. Martin Wills (pictured) was an amateur jockey and journalist who died in April 1992, aged 39.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the judges for the 15th year, says: “This really is the last chance to win a prestigious Martin Wills Writing Award. Potential entrants have most of February – an eternity for many journalists – to create a winning idea and commit it to paper.”

The Awards are for fine writing (fact or fiction) on a horseracing theme of a sort suitable for publication in the Racing Post or The Irish Field by young people resident in the UK or the Republic of Ireland. The Awards have four categories: under 26, under 18 , under 15 and under 12. The winners and the school of the winners in the three younger categories will each receive a trophy.

Those aged under 26/18/15/12 on 1st September 2016 are invited to submit a single typewritten article by 28th February 2017 via the ‘Entry Requirements’ section of the Awards’ website.

A detailed knowledge of horseracing is unnecessary. No previous experience of published or competitive writing is required. Entrants are strongly advised to consult the FAQs (in the Awards section of the website), as well as the ‘Lines of Brilliance’ section and the Feedback press releases 2007-16 (in the News section).

The eight prizes, for the winner and runner-up in each category, are £1,000/£500 (under 26s), £500/£250 (under 18s), £250/£125 (under 15s) and £200/£100 (under 12s).  In addition, the winners will be published in the Racing Post and The Irish Field. The under 26 winner will have the opportunity of work experience at the Racing Post and the option to retain for a year an attractive bronze of two galloping horses. There is no obligation on the judges to award prizes if the standard is insufficient.

Information on the Awards is available at and also via Facebook – Wills-Writing-Awards and Twitter @WillsAwards.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top