British Champions Day, St Leger 2016

Doncaster St Leger: Fillies and the St Leger

[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″ admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat” background_size=”initial”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=” ” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” border_style=”solid” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat” background_size=”initial” _builder_version=”3.0.69″]

St Leger 2016: Since its first running in 1776, a total of 42 fillies have landed the final Classic, although only seven of them have triumphed since the Second World War.

The first St Leger went to a filly, Allabaculia, and some great female performers have since graced the Doncaster winner’s enclosure including Sceptre in 1902 and Pretty Polly two years later.

The seven post-War winners were Meld (1955), bookmaker William Hill’s Cantelo (1959), the Queen’s Dunfermline (1977), Sun Princess (1983), the last fillies’ Triple Crown winner Oh So Sharp (1985) and User Friendly (1992) and Simple Verse (2015). Of the septet, all bar Simple Verse (did not run at Epsom Downs) and Cantelo (who was second at Epsom) had previously won the Oaks.

Diminuendo, also an Oaks winner, was only thwarted by a length as Minster Son outstayed the filly close home in 1988, while Ramruma, the Epsom heroine in 1999, had to settle for second behind Mutafaweq three months later at Doncaster. In 2008, Look Here took third behind Conduit after her Epsom success while Snow Fairy, the 2010 Oaks heroine, appeared not to stay when fourth to Arctic Cosmos.

In 2013, Talent continued the good record of Oaks winners when finding only Leading Light a length and a quarter too strong. Other placed fillies include Untold, who was third to Moon Madness in 1986, Roseate Tern who finished second to Michelozzo at Ayr in 1989, Hellenic who was runner-up to Snurge in 1990, the 1999 second High And Low, Quiff, who found only Rule Of Law too strong in 2004, and Unsung Heroine who finished second behind Conduit in 2008.

Simple Verse, supplemented at the cost of £50,000, finished first past the post in 2015 but was controversially disqualified for causing interference to head runner-up Bondi Beach on the day. Trained by Ralph Beckett for Qatar Racing Limited, she was subsequently reinstated on appeal. She went on to win the Group One QIPCO British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes over 12 furlongs at Ascot the following month.


Year    Winning Filly   Previous Classic performances

2015 Simple Verse (main picture)

1992 User Friendly      won Oaks

1985 Oh So Sharp     won 1,000 Guineas and Oaks

1983 Sun Princess     won Oaks

1977 Dunfermline     won Oaks

1959 Cantelo     2nd Oaks

1955 Meld     won 1,000 Guineas and Oaks

1943 Herringbone     won 1,000 Guineas

1942 Sun Chariot     won 1,000 Guineas and Oaks

1927 Book Law     2nd in 1,000 Guineas and Oaks

1923 Tranquil     won 1,000 Guineas

1919 Keysoe

1904 Pretty Polly     won 1,000 Guineas, Oaks

1902 Sceptre     won 1,000 Guineas, 2,000 Guineas, Oaks


Year   Filly   Position


2013 Talent 2nd

2011 Blue Bunting 6th; Rumh 9th

2010 Snow Fairy 4th

2008 Unsung Heroine 2nd; Look Here 3rd

**2006 Mont Etoile 8th

2004 Quiff 2nd

2003 Moments Of Joy 5th; Summitville 11th

2000 Littlepacepaddocks 8th

1999 Ramruma 2nd; Noushkey 6th

1998 High And Low 2nd

1997 Book At Bedtime 4th

1995 Jural 10th


1990 Hellenic 2nd

*1989 Roseate Tern 3rd

*Run at Ayr, **Run at York


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Eclipse Magazine

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top