Cheltenham Festival 2017: Triumph Hurdle Facts and Figures

The JCB Triumph Hurdle was run at Hurst Park and transferred to Cheltenham in 1965 on the closure of the London course.

The Triumph Hurdle originally took place at Cheltenham’s April Meeting but was moved to The Festival in 1968.

The contest has only had three sponsors since transferring to Cheltenham, with the Daily Express backing from 1965 to 1996, and the Elite Racing Club sponsoring from 1997 to 2000. The current sponsor JCB is supporting the race for the 15th time this year, having commenced in 2002.

The contest is restricted to four-year-olds only and carries prize money of £125,000.


The highest number of runners came in 1970 when Varma beat 30 rivals, while the smallest field was in 1965 when seven runners took part. The current safety limit is 22.


Simon Munir’s colours have been carried to victory by Soldatino (2010) and Peace And Co (2015).


Lambourn handler Nicky Henderson is the most successful trainer with six victories courtesy of First Bout (1985), Alone Success (1987), Katarino (1999), Zaynar (2009), Soldatino (2010) and Peace And Co (2015).


Barry Geraghty is the winning-most jockeys with four wins – Spectroscope (2003), Zaynar (2009), Soldatino (2010) and Peace And Co (2015).


Three mares have triumphed – Shawiya (1993), Mysilv (1994) and Snow Drop (2000).


The shortest-priced winner was Attivo, owned by legendary racing commentator Sir Peter O’Sullevan, who obliged at odds of 4/5 in 1974.

The biggest-priced winners are Baron Blakeney (1981), Shiny Cooper (1982) and Ikdam (1989), all returned at 66/1. Nine favourites have prevailed in 50 runnings (18 per cent).


The fastest winning time is 3m 51.20s, posted by Detroit City in 2006.

IRELAND (8): Meladon (1977), Northern Game (1984), Rare Holiday (1990), Shawiya (1993), Commanche Court (1997),

Scolardy (2002), Our Conor (2013) and Tiger Roll (2014) FRANCE (1): Snow Drop (2000).


Three horses have gone on from winning the JCB Triumph Hurdle to victory in the Stan James Champion Hurdle. Persian War won the Triumph in 1967 and reeled off three Champion Hurdles from 1968–70; Kribensis won the Triumph in 1988 and the Champion Hurdle in 1990, while in 2008 Katchit added a Champion Hurdle victory to his success in the 2007 JCB Triumph Hurdle.

Unprecedentedly, Nicky Henderson saddled three runners in the 2015 renewal of the JCB Triumph Hurdle (16 ran) and they finished first, second and third in the correct order (according to the betting market)! Peace And Co (2/1 Fav) won from Top Notch (7/1) and Hargam (8/1).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top