British Champions Series and British Champions Day 2016

The QIPCO British Champions Series is designed to throw the spotlight on Britain’s best Flat races and will climax on Saturday 15th October 2016 with the richest fixture in British racing history, QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot.

The Series features 35 Flat races staged throughout the Flat racing season each year at ten of the UK’s leading racecourses: Ascot, Doncaster, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Newbury, Newmarket’s July Course, Newmarket’s Rowley Mile, Sandown Park and York.

It encompasses the top races at British racing’s key festivals, including the QIPCO Guineas Festival at Newmarket, the Investec Derby Festival at Epsom, Royal Ascot, the Newmarket July Festival, The Qatar Goodwood Festival, the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival at York and the Ladbrokes St Leger Festival at Doncaster.

The QIPCO British Champions Series comprises five easy-to-follow champion categories – Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares.

QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday 15th October is the richest Flat raceday in the British calendar with £4.2m in prize money on offer and boasts a card comprising four Group 1s, a Group 2 and the richest mile handicap in Europe. This year is the sixth annual running of British Champions Day.

There is a record number of entries this year (up 10.8% on 2015) featuring the winners of no fewer than 79 Group 1 races and 15 European Classics.

The day continues its strong international theme with a weighty contingent from Ireland, over ten per cent of the entries coming from 12 different stables across France and an entry from Hong Kong for the rst time ever.

Many of the season’s most exciting equine talents have entries including Minding, winner of three QIPCO British Champions Series races this season, dual Derby hero Harzand and the cream of the milers in Galileo Gold, The Gurkha and Awtaad.

The day will also see the crowning of the Champion Flat Owner, the Stobart Champion Apprentice and the Stobart Champion Flat Jockey. Already this contest is hotting up with defending champion Silvestre De Sousa narrowly holding onto his current lead from the in-form pairing of James Doyle and Ryan Moore.

This year across the Series there has been £18.8 million in prize money, a 43.5% increase since the first running of the Series in 2011.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top