1000 Guineas – Facts & Figures

The QIPCO 1000 Guineas 2012 will be run at Newmarket's Rowley course on Sunday 6th May:


The inaugural running of the 1000 Guineas, for three-year-old fillies, took place in 1814. The Classic was won by the 11/5 favourite Charlotte, who beat four rivals.

Four fillies have completed the 1000 Guineas/2000 Guineas double. The last was Sceptre in 1902, who was also successful in the Oaks and St Leger. The other fillies to win both Newmarket Classics are Crucifix (1840), Formosa (1868) and Pilgrimage (1878).

In 1825, the Duke of Grafton’s Tontine was the sole participant in the 1000 Guineas. At the other end of the spectrum, the largest field was 29 in 1926, when Pillion was successful at 25/1. The maximum field size allowed is 30.

Humble Duty recorded the greatest winning margin since 1900 when scoring by seven lengths in 1970 under Lester Piggott. During the same period, six winners have scraped home by a short-head, namely Atmah (1911), Fair Isle (1930), Highclere (1974), Nocturnal Spree (1975), Oh So Sharp (1985) and Las Meninas (1994). Jacqueline Quest was a nose in front of Special Duty in the 2010 renewal only for the places to be reversed in the stewards’ room.

The longest-priced 1000 Guineas winner was Lord Derby’s Ferry, returned at 50/1 in 1918. The shortest-priced was Crucifix, whose odds were 1/10 when taking the 1840 renewal. Jacqueline Quest was a 66/1 shot when “winning” in 2010 but was demoted to second following a post-race enquiry due to interference against the ultimately victorious Special Duty.

A total of 80 of the 198 runnings have been won by either the favourite or a joint-favourite. This works out as just over four in every 10 runnings being won by a market leader. Sent off at 9/2, Special Duty in 2010 was the most recent winning favourite. 

One of the true heroines of the 1000 Guineas was Tagalie, successful in 1912 and the only winner to go on and land the Derby. 

A total of 47 fillies have won both the 1000 Guineas and Oaks. Neva was the first in 1817 and Kazzia the latest in 2002.

Seven winners since 1900 have been trained in Ireland – 1908 Rhodora (trained by James Allen), 1964 Pourparler (Paddy Prendergast), 1966 Glad Rags (Vincent O’Brien), 1975 Nocturnal Spree (Stuart Murless), 1994 Las Meninas (Tommy Stack), 2005 Virginia Waters (Aidan O’Brien) and Finsceal Beo (Jim Bolger) in 2007.

There have been 16 French-trained winners since 1900 – 1929 Taj Mah (trained by Juan Torterolo), Kandy (1932 Frank Carter), Mesa (1935 Albert Swann), Imprudence (1947 Jacques Lieux), Camaree (1950 Alexandre Lieux), Rose Royale (1957 Alec Head), Bella Paola (1958 Francois Mathet), Never Too Late (1960 Etienne Pollet), Hula Dancer (1963 Etienne Pollet), Flying Water (1976 Angel Penna), Ma Biche (1983 Criquette Head), Miesque (1987 Francois Boutin), Ravinella (1988 Criquette Head), Hatoof (1992 Criquette Head), Natagora (2008 Pascal Bary) and the 2010 winner Special Duty (2010 Criquette Head-Maarek). 

Sir Henry Cecil is the most successful current trainer in the 1000 Guineas with six wins, while Kieren Fallon has the best record of the current generation of jockeys with a quartet of victories, recording his latest success in 2005 on Virginia Waters. 

Ghanaati set a new record time for the 1000 Guineas in 2009, recording 1m 34.22s which was 0.72s faster than Finsceal Beo’s 1m 34.94s in 2007.

The present Queen owned the 1974 heroine Highclere while her father, King George VI, saw both Hypernicum (1946) and Sun Chariot (1942) carry his colours to victory. King George V was victorious with Scuttle in 1928 and, way back in 1896, Thais triumphed for the Prince of Wales (later to become King Edward VII).


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Racing News, What to Wear, Competitions, Features, Betting Tips and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. We'll bring the news to you about once a month. We NEVER share your data.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Scroll to Top