Largest Field: 30 runners went to post in 1825. The current safety limit is 20.

Smallest Field: In 1917, when the race was run at Newmarket, Gay Crusader only had to see off three rivals. The smallest fields at Doncaster were in 1783 and 1785, when only four runners went to post.

Biggest Shocks: Ottrington (1812) and Theodore (1822) both won at 100/1. In more recent times, Moonax was 40/1 when scoring in 1994.

Shortest-Priced Winner: Galtee More (1897) was sent off at 1/10.

Most Successful Jockey: Bill Scott with nine wins – Jack Spigot (1821), Memnon (1825), The Colonel (1828), Rowton (1829), Don John (1838), Charles The Twelfth (1839), Launcelot (1840), Satirist (1841) and Sir Tatton Sykes (1846). Lester Piggott rode eight St Leger winners and is the second most successful jockey in the final Classic, followed by Fred Archer (six wins). 

Most Successful Current Jockey: Frankie Dettori with five wins (Classic Cliche 1995, Shantou 1996, Scorpion 2005, Sixties Icon 2006 and Conduit 2008). 

Most Successful Trainer: John Scott (brother of Bill Scott) with 16 wins. Scott’s winners were Matilda (1827), The Colonel (1828), Rowton (1829), Margrave (1832), Touchstone (1834), Don John (1838), Charles The Twelfth (1839), Launcelot (1840), Satirist (1841), The Baron (1845), Newminster (1851), West Australian (1853), Warlock (1856), Imperieuse (1857), Gamester (1859) and The Marquis (1862). Other St Leger specialists have been Mat Dawson, John Porter, Cecil Boyd-Rochfort and Dick Hern, who all trained six winners. 

Most Successful Current Trainer: Godolphin’s Saeed bin Suroor with five victories – Mastery (2009), Rule Of Law (2004), Mutafaweq (1999), Nedawi (1998) and Classic Cliche (1995). 

Most Successful Owners: The 17th Earl of Derby and HH Aga Khan III both enjoyed six victories. The Earl of Derby’s winners were Swynford (1910), Keysoe (1919), Tranquil (1923), Fairway (1928), Hyperion (1933) and Herringbone (1943). HH Aga Khan’s wins came with Salmon Trout (1924), Firdaussi (1932), Barham (1935), Turkham (1940), Tehran (1944) and Tulyar (1952).The present Aga Khan has yet to own a St Leger winner. 

Most Successful Current Owner: Godolphin with five victories – Mastery (2009), Rule Of Law (2004), Mutafaweq (1999), Nedawi (1998) and Classic Cliche (1995). 

Winning Brothers: The St Leger winners Ribocco (1967) and Ribero (1968) were full-brothers. Both were owned by Charles Engelhard, trained by Fulke Johnson Houghton and ridden by Lester Piggott. 

Winning Favourites: In the 65 renewals since the end of World War II, 25 favourites have won the Ladbrokes St Leger. The most recent of those was Sixties Icon at 11/8 in 2006. Nine of the 25 winning favourites were returned at odds-on, the shortest priced winner being the 1970 Triple Crown hero Nijinsky at 2/7. 

Irish-trained Winners: Since 1945, seven horses trained in Ireland have won the Ladbrokes St Leger. The first of those was Ballymoss in 1957 for trainer Vincent O’Brien, who also scored with Nijinsky (1970) and Boucher (1972). Aidan O’Brien saddled Milan (2001), Brian Boru (2003) and Scorpion (2005) to victory, while Paddy Prendergast provided the other Irish success with Ragusa (1963). 

French-trained Winners: Six French-trained horses have landed the Ladbrokes St Leger in the same period, the first being Scratch II in 1950 for trainer Charles Semblat, who followed up a year later with Talma II. The Andre Fabre-trained Toulon in 1991 was the most recent French success. 



Allison Graham

Allison is the Publisher of Eclipse Magazine. She loves going to the Races and is learning to bet (despite being officially the worst bettor in the History of the Universe), there's a lot more to learn...

Latest posts by Allison Graham (see all)

If you enjoyed this, try...